Welcome!

Welcome to Raccontando!

This is the blog which will hopefully recount how I manage to successfully complete my PhD over the next year. Yes, I should have started it a long time ago!

My research is based on the stories I have been told by foreign care workers living in the city of Bologna, Italy. I am interested particularly in notions of belonging, home and motherhood.

I first started my research in 2008 but took some time off for maternity leave – my research life is slightly hampered by looking after the needs of three small-ish children, although my “real” life is considerably enriched by their arrival! Writing about other mothers who have combined work and motherhood has helped me reflect on my own experiences.

Finally, I am a “distance learner” and have had limited opportunity to discuss my research with others so I hope to have some virtual discussions!

Leave a Reply

